Smashbox O-Glow Cheek Colour Review!

While on a impromptu trip to my local Shoppers Drug Mart, I found myself in the makeup section (no surprise). As I made my rounds, I noticed a sign that said $9.99… In the Smashbox section… $9.99 FOR A FULL SIZE?! In the cart it went. So what exactly did I pick up? Well, I was asking myself the same thing when I left the store with it.

Upon further investigation, it was a blush. More specifically, a blush that transforms to compliment your skin tone! I was equal parts excited and skeptical. If you want to see how Smashbox’s “O-Glow Cheek Colour” worked on me, read on!

18553855_10154403034895919_494478720_o

Consistency: this very much reminds me of a Smashbox primer. It leaves my skin feeling and looking smooth, just like the photo finish primer. It’s super easy to apply and it comes out clear. I rubbed it in with my fingers. This stuff also smells kind of strange… Kind of like a crayon.

Colour: I was super excited to see my cheeks transform into the best suited blush shade. As someone who is all about not wearing foundation, I just had to try it out on a foundation free face. I was excited to see how much of a natural blush my face would get! Heck, I just wanted to add some rosiness to my natural face! A great tip would be to tap it onto your face rather than smear/rub it in. I found that the more rub the product in, the more it disappears.

PicMonkey Collage.jpg

Wear: Strangely enough, the colour faded as the day went on. By the end of the day it eventually turns into a super, super natural blush… AKA so light it’s almost unnoticeable. Although in it’s defence, I did go to the gym and sweat a little bit, so that might’ve been the culprit. Then again, that doesn’t explain the fading of colour while I was just sitting in a lecture.

Also, since this was tested out on a foundation free face, I might opt and do a follow up post about the product when there is a foundation base under it. If there was a difference then you will see another post!

All in all, I wouldn’t repurchase this product. Although it does give you the prettiest natural pink when it is applied, it doesn’t last. Personally, I would much rather prefer the typical powder blush that I already use. Strangely enough, this has a pretty good rating on Sephora, so I’m not sure if I got a bad product or if I’m somehow using it incorrectly?This wasn’t as life changing as I was hoping, unfortunately.

Thanks for reading, and let me know your thoughts on this product if you’ve ever tried it!

xo, tonirose 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

