Tonirose’s Guide to: Bullet Journals!

I’ve always loved looking at photos of bullet journals and watching videos of people give bullet journal tours. They were always intimidating though. They looked like so much work and commitment and I convinced myself that I didn’t have enough time to keep up with my own. Although, I finally decided to do it and I’m so happy that I did!

Bullet journals are life altering in more ways than one. If you are considering making one, here are a few tips and tricks for bullet journal beginners, from a beginner herself!

  1. The journal itself: a lot of people recommend using dot grid journals. Personally, I prefer using grid lined journals. I like having the lines as a guide. (I have also developed a strange love for using grid paper to write notes and stuff?) The journal I have is affordable and has great paper quality! You can get it here.  PicMonkey Collage.jpg
  2. Pens, markers, pencils, oh wow?!: I’ve kept it simple. My weapons of choice are my 0.3mm Staedtler fineliner pens and my mechanical pencils. I use the mechanical pencil to plan out pages before going over it with my coloured pens! You don’t have to be fancy with it – especially if you’re just starting out. In the future, I hope to purchase some cute washi tape and stickers so I can make each page cuter than it already is! IMG_1558.jpg
  3. Pages: the joy of bullet journaling is that it is so customizable. You can have as many or as little pages as you desire and it truly doesn’t matter. It’s a good idea to experiment with different pages every month to see what fits best with you. Everything can be altered if needed or can be ditched entirely in the next month. Essentially, everything is up to you! Last month, I loved my Habit Tracker and Gratuity Log pages because of how interactive they were! PicMonkey Collage.jpg
  4. Lettering, doodles, and colours!?: I’ve taught myself the art of calligraphy for the sake of my bullet journal. Personally, I think that cute lettering makes each page stand out and speak for itself. I’m not entirely sure what font I’ve been recreating, but I absolutely love the way it looks! As for doodles, I kept them controlled and to a minimum. I had a page that was specifically for doodling, and I also doodled a few pictures in empty boxes of one of my pages. I wanted bring attention to the text rather than doodles, but I’m sure my inner doodler will come out eventually! I love using bright and eye catching colours on each page. It just makes everything look happy and interesting!

So let’s say you have all of this down and you’re in the works of planning your bullet journal when it hits you… How are you going to have time to keep up with it?! When are you going to find time in your busy day to fill it in?! Take a deep breath and relax.

The joy if bullet journaling is that everything is based upon you. You can determine what pages you have and don’t have. I mean, you don’t have to make every single page of your bullet journal interactive and required to be dealt with every day. I had 3 pages that I have to fill in everyday. That’s less than 5 minutes a day dedicated to my bullet journal! It all depends on you and what you decide to put in our journal. Like I said before, keep it simple and try out different things to see what you like the most!

The addition of a bullet journal in my life has been nothing but positive. Although it is just a journal, it is something that allows me to have time for myself. I usually fill it in every night once my day is over. It allows me to reflect on my day which is something I think everyone should be doing. Who would’ve thought that a little black journal would make such a great impact on my life?

I hope this post inspired you in some way, shape, or form!

xo, tonirose 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

