Elf Baked Highlighter & Blush Review

As someone who adores a good highlight, I’ve always been on the lookout for a high quality, amazing glow, drugstore product. I mean, when you highlight as frequently as I do, hitting pan on a highlighter isn’t something that will take a long time. Plus, highlight is expensive! I mean, I don’t want to sacrifice the glow because something is too expensive, or break the bank almost every two months in order to have highlighted cheekbones. I guess all I’m going to say is that I was on the hunt for a cheaper alternative to my regular highlight.

Elf always has great products, so I was more than excited when I saw some of their highlighters at Walmart! I just had to pick one up to try it because of the reviews that I have heard. I mean, it’s possible that I found the “cheaper alternative to my regular highlight,” right?

17408080_10154246367125919_150460220_oI picked out Rose Gold, which was said to be one of their new shades. Personally, I started using blush recently, but the blush side was not the reason why I purchased this shade. What interested me what the fact that mixing the two shades would result in a rose gold highlight which, if you know me, is the definition of MY AESTHETIC! It was also only $5, which is a steal for something that can give you 3 different highlight options.

Application: When I first swatched this product, I was not very impressed with what I saw. It was barely a glow, and appeared to be better for someone who is more into an everyday, natural, almost not there, type of glow (aka not me). Although, after working with it a little, the product started getting better and better! I’ve heard it many times before, but you have to make sure you get through the top layer if you want any form of highlight at all.

17431425_10154246366870919_2033918316_o

The highlight is beautiful, but definitely a tad bit light for my skin tone. It gives off a very natural highlight, but it would probably look better on someone with a lighter skin tone than me. To my surprise, the “blush” was not really a blush. Honestly, it’s more of a highlight than anything! It’s a beautiful pink highlight and I could definitely see myself using it. The rose gold combination of the highlight and the “blush” was beautiful as well. I think it works best for my skin tone! It is also very close to the shade of highlight that I currently use. Out of the three options that this highlight gives, I love the mixture of both shades.

The formula is very powdery and dry. I’m not a big fan of it and the way it looks when it is on my skin. It seems to emphasize any texture that my skin has! Not impressed.

Wear: I wore this highlight when I watched Beauty and the Beast, meaning, I cried… A LOT. It was also a warm day, which means that my face got a tad bit oily. Unfortunately, this did not last through the tears and the heat. Sure there was a little bit of a glow, but it was nothing compared to what it looked like when I first applied it. It really just looked like I had sweat on my face. Not a good look. I also used my Pixi Setting Spray as usual, and it still did not stay on! I was not impressed.

Final Thoughts: This product was alright, but nothing life changing. I love the colour of the pink shade as well as the rose gold combination – I think it is absolutely beautiful! Although, with that being said, I would not repurchase this product. It isn’t anything special and I still favour my current highlighter over this one. It doesn’t last very long and it didn’t really wow me in any way.

And so, the hunt for a cheaper highlighter continues.

xo, tonirose 🙂

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Elf Baked Highlighter & Blush Review

Leave a Reply

