Body Positivity

“If the person you saw in the mirror was your best friend, would you be saying those things that you tell yourself to her?”

Lately body posi has been a popular topic among everyone in social media. I absolutely love this trend in more ways than one. Being a girl myself, I do feel the pressure of society to look a certain way, weigh this much, have this hair, etc. Sometimes remaining body positive in a word so appearance based is hard. Sometimes loving yourself seems like that hardest thing to do. 

I know how hard loving yourself can be. I went through a long and hard process of trying to accept myself as who I am and that I’m not something to be disappointed about. My body is not something that should cause me to have a powerful and never-ending hatred for myself. I was at a point of my life where I was tired of looking at myself in the mirror and wishing for this waist line, these boobs, that butt. It was unhealthy and unreasonable. Yet, I couldn’t pull myself to love the big thighs and waist line that I was given. The hate I had towards my own body, the thing that keeps me alive, was so terrible. I didn’t think that I would ever get over how ‘hideous’ I thought my body was.

The beginning of grade 9 is when I started to realize that hating my body would do nothing. If I wanted to do something about it, then it was up to me to make a change. I’m not talking about a physical change, but a mental change. I knew that I had to change my way of thinking before I could change anything else. It started with changing the little things; complimenting myself, having positive thought about my body and slowly but surely accepting the body parts that I truly hated. Everyday lead me a step closer to loving myself the way I wanted do. I knew that I deserved to feel loved by myself. Soon enough, I began to love the way I looked. It was such a good feeling to finally admit to myself that the hatred that I thought would never disappear was gone.

Seeing the #bodyposi pictures and stories makes me so happy. It’s so nice to see that more and more people succeeded in the journey of self love and feeling comfortable in their own skin. Being through the journey and knowing the struggle that comes with it makes these pictures that much more inspiring and make me ten times more happier. On the other hand, seeing how many people struggle with loving themselves is truly saddening. After being through it, I know how tough it is to try and love the body your in. I can’t emphasize the importance of staying body positive, not only for yourself, but for everyone else. If you know someone is struggling with loving themselves, compliment them, talk to them about it. Don’t bring them down further by calling them names and making them feel more terrible than they originally felt.

I can’t stress enough how much a supportive group of people will help. Having friends and family to cheer you up, keep you positive and help you through the journey is a great tool to learning how to love yourself. As previously mentioned in another post, my friends and family are the greatest support systems that I have and I love them dearly for it. Maybe they didn’t even know that their kind words were helping me through the tough time that I was in, but those words kept me going. Most importantly, admit to yourself that it’s time to love yourself. Remember that it’ll take a long time to love yourself, it won’t all happen over night. I know that I have certain days where I’m not feeling myself at all. I look at my body and I feel so insecure. I just remember that those days where I absolutely hate myself are insignificant when compared to the years that I’ve loved myself.

Loving yourself can be hard to do, but it definitely pays off in the end.

One thought on “Body Positivity

Leave a Reply

